Dean's Scholars Award Program

Full-tuition scholarship and the opportunity to interview for a $15,000 yearly stipend

Dean's Scholars Award Program Details

The Dean’s Scholars Award Program is the signature scholarship program at the Vanderbilt Owen Graduate School of Management. Selected annually from the incoming MBA class, Dean’s Scholars receive a full-tuition scholarship. One Dean's Scholar is selected from each year’s cohort as the Dean’s Scholar Award Winner and receives an additional $15,000 yearly stipend.

Candidates interested in the Dean’s Scholar Award are asked to apply during Round 1 or Round 2 and complete an additional essay. Strong candidates for the program will exhibit outstanding academic credentials, notable professional accomplishments, well-defined career goals, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and strong leadership skills. They will also display a commitment to the Vanderbilt Business mission and core values.

Incoming Dean’s Scholars are invited to attend Dean’s Scholars Day, where they will participate in an interview and a series of events on Vanderbilt’s campus. The Dean’s Scholars Stipend Recipient Selection Committee will select the Dean’s Scholar Award Winner during Dean’s Scholars Day.

While at Owen, Dean’s Scholars participate in thoughtfully designed and enriching programming throughout the academic year, specifically intended to create uniquely tailored experiences that are defining to our Scholars and will leave a lasting impact on your classmates and the institution at large. 

Scholars will have high-level interactions with Dean Steenburgh and other senior leadership as a cornerstone of the Program, as well as an array of exclusive social events and community-building activities.  Sample programming includes:

  • Dean’s Scholars Welcome Dinner with Dean Steenburgh
  • Lunch with the Owen Alumni Board
  • Session with Associate Dean for MBA Recruiting and Admissions Strategy
  • Individualized Coaching from Owen Executives-in-Residence
  • Dean’s Scholars Think Tank Strategic Sessions

Current Dean's Scholars